No Invisible Man Sleeping In Your Bed

Um. What happened to theme songs in movies? Almost every film used to have one, and now they’re almost non-existent. I know that films do still have songs, but the majority just steal an already popular song; there are so few written for the movie itself.

If we think of movies like Rocky, Top Gun, Dirty Dancing, Ghostbusters, An Officer & A Gentleman, Footloose, Full Metal Jacket, Beverly Hills Cop, Robin Hood etc – these movies, and hundreds like them, had their own theme songs, written specifically for the movie, and oh how we would sing along…

But now, they’ve vanished, and I think I’m going to blame Celine Dion. It’s not purely because she’s a French Canadian; I have many French Canadian readers so I wouldn’t ever admit to such racist thoughts (I’m a hockey fan after all), although I do really dislike Celine. I think she managed to over-theme the world with “My Heart Will Go On”, and the world said “No More”. And so the movie theme song was destroyed. Well, I guess it hasn’t died completely, but there is certainly a dearth of movie theme songs now, and a trend towards the Garden State, Vanilla Sky style of using existing songs. Now, I know what you’re going to say, “But Eddie, those movie themes you’re talking about were terribly tacky and cheesy, and we’d rather hear Coldplay when we watch our movie”. Well, yes they were, but they also gave those movies a certain something that seems to be missing these days.

So, I’d like to see the theme song make its comeback, and we need to support movies that aspire to these ‘good old days’. If there are any recent examples, give a shout-out to them, or reminisce about the old ones, because let’s face it without movie theme songs, “who you gonna call…?”

~ by eddie on November 19, 2007.

4 Responses to “No Invisible Man Sleeping In Your Bed”

  1. Um, I don’t get the title of this post. :(

  2. It’s a line from the Ghostbusters theme song, A’Hottie. The old people will know it, meanwhile, rejoice in your youthfulness. :)

  3. Listen to her howlin’ roarrrrr

  4. Kenny Loggins’ son went to Colorado and made out with a completely horrid girl in my sorority. So, that’s relevant.

Leave a Reply

 
