On Being Twelve . . .

I went to see a jazz show on Wednesday night, and before it started, I was chatting to a friend:

Eddie: So, I finally caved and ditched the out-of-state driver’s license, and went legit, so I now belong to this fine state.
JazzGirl: Oh, that’s great.
Eddie: Hmmm. Problem is, in my photo, I look like I’m 12 years old.
JazzGirl: Let me see.
Eddie: OK (passes license to JazzGirl)
JazzGirl: Hahahahaahaaaa. You DO look like you’re 12.

Later on in the evening, after the show, I was talking to the jazz singer, and she introduced me to one of her friends. The very first thing out of his mouth was:

Friend: Has anyone ever told you that you look just like Luke Skywalker? It’s uncanny.
Eddie: When I was 12, lots of people said it, but not since.
Friend: Well, you do.

So, if you see a 12 year-old grown man who resembles Luke Skywalker wandering the streets, you’ve discovered the identity of Eddie, and the power of The Force.

~ by eddie on December 15, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
