National Booo Week 2008

I was waiting at a traffic light yesterday, and a couple started to cross the road. They were well-dressed, early forties, and the man was reading some sort of flyer. By the time he’d made it to the other side of the road, he’d obviously become bored of whatever was being advertised, so he dropped the flyer on the floor. Now, I despise littering; one of the many signs of the horrendous epidemic of laziness that is taking over this country. But what could I do? Well, by the time I pulled away from the lights, I decided what I will do from now on. I will booo these people, and I encourage you to do the same. So I am starting the unofficial National Booo Week 2008.

I figured that, when our sporting heroes let us down, we’re very quick to booo, and it really does hit home. Lance Armstrong once said, “A boo is a lot louder than a cheer. If you have 10 people cheering and one person booing, all you hear is the booing.” – and he’s right. Imagine if I was a pedestrian, and I decided to booo the litterer, pointing out his littering sins to others, who then joined in the booo chorus – the joyous shame that we would be piling on this individual.

So, my fellow readers, this week, I encourage you to booo people who are annoying or obnoxious ass-holes. Booo them long and hard, and let me know how things go. Encourage your friends to booo people this week too – and I’m not talking about a quiet booo, but a full-vocal, “YOU SUCK” kind of booo. Booo people at school if they deserve it, or in the office, or in the street, or at the coffee shop – you get a bad latte, then just start boooing your barista.

So booo loud and hard, and report back with your stories, and if you don’t then “BOOOOOOOO . . .”

~ by eddie on February 17, 2008.

3 Responses to “National Booo Week 2008”

  1. Yes! Let the BOOO’s ring loud and clear. Come on people, join us in this joyful week of boooing.

  2. And it is also quite an homage to the Princess Bride – woot.

    Booooooo!

  3. As all great things should be, AH. . . oooh, maybe I should put Princess Bride on this afternoon while I work? Yes, good thinking.

Leave a Reply

 
