Technological Snails

So I’ve become a little addicted to my new iPod Touch – this thing really does rock, you should all rush out and buy one immediately. But it did get me thinking about technological advances, and how some companies and products advance much faster than others. It was at this point that I glanced down at my stapler, and thought “where the heck are you in this race?”. Is it just me, or has the stapler not advanced a single step since the 1950’s? Are we really saying that we have created the perfect device to keep a few pieces of paper together? I don’t know about you, but I still get the squished staple jamming up the mouth of the stapler, and the loading mechanism is just horrible. Or is it just that nobody cares about the stapler enough to do anything?

OK, when I say staplers haven’t advanced, always wanting to be at the cutting edge of technology, mine is a little advanced because it is the Monty Python and the Holy Grail ‘Rabbit of Caerbannog’ stapler, and it does have sharp, pointy teeth . . .

rabbit.gif

~ by eddie on February 19, 2008.

5 Responses to “Technological Snails”

  1. Actually, Eddie, as a fellow Python fan, I must insist that you be faithful to the original quote: “death awaits you all..with nasty big pointy teeth.” The blood on the teeth of your most marvelous stapler obviously makes it “nasty.”

    Yes, I am extremely envious. I want that stapler on MY desk. I must scheme now…

  2. You really don’t want to get me down the road of quoting Python verbatim, otherwise my blog will become awash with quotes.

  3. Well, anything to do with Monty Python is, by nature, completely awesome – however, staplers get on my nerves. I do believe we need some technological advances in the field of office supplies.

  4. Precisely Ethan, and you’re correct in extending this to all office supplies. The stapler, staple remover, hole-punch, paper clip, etc – are these exempt from advancing???

  5. They have staplers that you plug in, so there’s that.

Leave a Reply

 
