A Swell Season? Heck Yeah!

Tonight, I went to the Meyerhoff Symphony Hall to see the Swell Season concert. “Swell Season?”, you ask. Swell Season are Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova from the Oscar winning movie, “Once”, and the rest of the band from The Frames.

Quite possibly one of the best live performances that I have ever seen – certainly the most genuinely, heartfelt performance I have ever witnessed, and a show that either produces the biggest smile on your face, or a smile that turns into tears of happiness. Over 2 hours of melodic joy, storytelling, musical analogies, and pure concert perfection.

I’m not going to say much more about it, other than this – if Swell Season have yet to arrive in your city, and yes, I’m talking to you Chicago, do ANYTHING you can do to procure a ticket to this concert. They are in Chicago for three nights, three nights of sold-out shows. Hunt down tickets on Craigslist, Ebay, whatever it takes, but DO NOT MISS THIS SHOW. If you ignore most things I say, which let’s face it, you should do, do not ignore this one. You will thank me a million times over after you see them perform.

Check out the rest of their schedule HERE

I will reiterate one more time – DO NOT MISS THIS SHOW!

~ by eddie on May 18, 2008.

2 Responses to “A Swell Season? Heck Yeah!”

  1. I could not agre with you more…

    I saw Swell Season in Portland at the very beginning of the tour. They were stellar. I posted a review on my blog at http://isorski.blogspot.com/2008/04/concert-review-swell-season.html. Check it out!

  2. Just saw them last night in Chicago. God are they awesome. I’ve seen him with the Frames twice too – Glen puts on the best live show.

Leave a Reply

 
