And So It Begins . . .

July 1st, a wonderful day for so many reasons.  Well, it’s the first day of July, and July is one of the most awesome months of the year (OK, maybe not for those of you taking the bar, but generally speaking it is).  It’s also NHL Free Agency Day, where all sorts of crazy signings will happen, and I will be dumbfounded my some of the GM’s decisions, and hopefully elated over whatever the Penguins decide to do.

It’s also the last day in the first half of the year – a time to take a look at what this year has brought you, and what it’s about to offer you out of its rear end.  Ew.  I’d re-phrase that, but I can’t be bothered.  Historically, it’s an important day too – the Battle of the Somme in World War I saw 20,000 British soldiers die in this one day alone.  The Battle of Gettysburg began today in 1863.  And in 1997, China took back the sovereignty of Hong Kong from us Brits, ending 156 years of British colonial rule.  But I am of course missing the most important reason that July 1st rocks:  It marks the beginning of my Birthday Fortnight!  Yaaaaay!

That’s right, being the greedy and self-centered person that I am, I have for many years now celebrated my birthday over 2 weeks, with my ‘Birthday Real’ sitting prettily in the middle on July 8th.  It basically guarantees that I’ll get two weekends where I can celebrate with my friends and family.  Only I really don’t have any of my English family to celebrate with, and most of my friends live elsewhere, but we can work around that somehow.  It does mean that I have fireworks for my birthday in this country, more so this year as one of my parties will be on July 4th, which is deliciously ironic on so many levels, but thanks America for celebrating Eddie Fortnight with such enthusiasm.

Making Eddie Fortnight even better is the fact that it contains A’Hottie’s birthday, which just adds to the awesomeness of this special couple of weeks.  Ooooh, we will be in Chicago on the last weekend of Eddie Fortnight – I think it might be a difficult task to pull the bar-victims away from their studying for an Eddie/A’Hottie birthday celebration, and of course the closing ceremonies of Eddie Fortnight, but I always love a challenge.

(Oh, it’s also Canada Day today, so give a Canadian a hug if you see one – they’re harmless enough)

~ by eddie on July 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “And So It Begins . . .”

  1. Eddie have a wonderful two weeks. I wish I were there to celebrate with you.

  2. Thanks, GOS – just fly out here! Now! Do it . . .

Leave a Reply

 
